Paul Finch

WAF 2024 Reveals Jury, Relaunches GROHE Water Prize

Here's a look at WAF 2024's jury, a briefer on this year's GROHE Water Prize, and a 20% discount code to celebrate Kanto's fourth consecutive partnership with the World Architecture Festival

Words The Kanto team
Images World Architecture Festival

WAF 2024 Jury

The 17th edition of the World Architecture Festival has named some of this year’s jury members! “Only at WAF and Inside are you judged by your peers, your heroes, and the industry’s power players, all live at the festival,” says WAF. 69 out of 140 judges have been revealed as of writing, with this edition’s jury representing 68 countries. The list comprises architects, designers, planners, architecture journalists, and architecture professors.

  • Simon Allford, Executive Director, AHMM
  • Emre Arolat, Design Partner, EAA – Emre Arolat Architecture
  • Maria Aslam, Founder and Chief Editor, ADA; Principal architect, ArchWorks
  • Gokhan Avcioglu, Founder, GAD Architecture
  • Chris Barton, Editor, Architecture New Zealand Magazine
  • Ali Basbous, Founder and Director, BAD – Built by Associative Data
  • Kathy Basheva, Founder and Architect, Studio Basheva
  • David Basulto, Founder and Editor-in-Chief, ArchDaily
  • Georgia Birks, Associate Editor, Architecture Media
  • Chris Bosse, Founder, LAVA-Laboratory for Visionary Architecture
  • Diogo Burnay, Founding Partner, CVBD Arquitectos
  • Kelley Cheng, Founder and Creative Director, The Press Room and StudioSML
  • Azad Chichmanian, Partner, NEUF architect(e)s
  • Chenyu Chiu, Founding Director, The Centre for World Citizens (Taiwan – Reyhanli Centre)
  • Nigel Coates, Director, INSIDE World Festival of Interiors
  • Sir Peter Cook, Director, Cook Belacevic Haffner and Partners
  • Mario Cucinella, Founder, Mario Cucinella Architects
  • Qun Dang, Principal Partner, MAD ARCHITECTS
  • Heather Dodd, Director, Savage + Dodd Architects
  • Danshen Dong, Chief Principal Architect of the Architectural Design and Research Institute of Zhejiang University (UAD)
  • Islam El Mashtooly, Creative Design Director, OBMI
  • Matt Fairman, Partner, Assembly Studios
  • Magdalena Federowicz-Boule, Architect and co-owner, Tremend
  • Yan Follain, Managing Director, WY-TO Group
  • Filippo Gabbiani, Founder and principal architect, Kokaistudios
  • Benjamin Gibson, Director, Gibson Thornley Architects
  • Barrington Gohns, Principal, Warren and Mahoney
  • Michael Heenan, Director, CEO and Design Lead, AJC Architects
  • Charu Kokate, Senior Partner/Director, Safdie Architects
  • Gary Lawson, Architect, Director, Stevens Lawson Architects
  • Cristiano Luchetti, Associate Professor, American University of Ras Al Khaimah
  • Richard Maimon, Partner, KieranTimberlake
  • Mahsa Majidi, Architect, Persian Garden Studio
  • Qutub Mandviwala, Principal Architect, Mandviwala Qutub & Associates (MQA)
  • Jeremy Melvin, Curator, World Architecture Festival
  • Viviana Muscettola, Director, Zaha Hadid Architects
  • Eva Nash, Director, Architect, Rogan Nash Architects
  • Natalie Pitt, Director, STH
  • Sanjay Puri, Principal Architect, Sanjay Puri Architects
  • Sasa Radulovic, Partner, Architect, 5468796 Architecture
  • Mohamad Rahimizadeh, Founder and Principal Architect, Kalbod Design Studio
  • Sonali Rastogi, Founding Partner, Morphogenesis
  • Pacharapan Ratanakorn, Co-founder and Design Director, PAVA architects
  • Michael Rayner, Director, Blight Rayner Architecture
  • Gerard Reinmuth, Founding Director, TERROIR
  • Yael Reisner, Architect, Researcher, Yael Reisner Studios
  • Martin Reuter, Managing Director, ingenhoven associates
  • Sebastian Ricard, Director, WilkinsonEyre
  • Alastair Richardson, Director, Cox Architecture
  • Ian Ritchie, Founder, Ritchie Studio
  • Kate Rogan, Director, Architect, Rogan Nash Architects
  • Marcos Rosello, Founding Director, All Design
  • Megan Rule, Founding Director, South Pacific Architecture
  • Mariana Simas, Executive Director, Studio MK27
  • Alexander Simonov, Partner, Archimatika
  • Jeremy Smith, Design Director, Irving Smith Architects
  • Isabelle Sun, Director, Founder, Office AIO
  • Kerstin Thompson, Architect, Director, and Founding Principal, Kerstin Thompson Architects
  • William Ti, Principal Architect, WTA Architecture and Design Studio
  • Valentina Torrente, Architect, Mario Cucinella Architects
  • Bratislav Toskovic, Lead Architect/Partner, Olla Architecture
  • Nadia Tromp, Principal, Ntsika Architects
  • Cristina Verissimo, Manager, Cofounder, CVBD Arquitectos
  • Erikjan Vermeulen, Partner and Head of Architecture, Concrete 
  • Sue Anne Ware, Head of School, Design & Built Environment, Curtin University, Australia
  • Maria Warner Wong, Design Director, WOW Architects/Warner Wong Design
  • Andrew Waugh, Founding Director, Waugh Thistleton Architects 
  • Juliana Wilson, Founder, Dirty Laundry Architecture
  • Carmelo Zappulla, Founder & CEO, External Reference

Watch out for WAF 2024’s updated jury list here.

Kanto Creative Corners WAF 2024 Updates

GROHE Water Prize

In collaboration with the World Architecture Festival, GROHE lends its support to ground-breaking research and innovative schemes tackling water challenges with the Water Prize. The prize celebrates pioneering projects at the nexus of design and water conservation and supports projects that explore the impact of water on architecture.

Entry is free for architects, designers, universities, or other research institutions. Entering other WAF categories is not required, and the winning project will receive £10,000 in funding for its further development. The chosen scheme will then be presented by its proponents live at WAF 2024 in Singapore, where they will receive a trophy at the Gala Dinner.

Proposals should identify a new challenge or opportunity in design and water, and contribute to understanding areas like storage, management, distribution, and recycling. Applicants must explain how their research addresses the identified issue and detail potential outcomes.

Dates to remember:

  • July 5. 2024 – Entry deadline
  • August 2024 – Entry judging
  • September 2024 – Winner’s announcement
  • November 6 to 8, 2024 – Winner’s presentation at WAF
  • November 8, 2024 – Awarding at the Gala Dinner       
Kanto Creative Corners WAF 2024 Updates


Kanto is once again proud to participate in the festival as an official WAF 2024 media partner. And just like in the past three years, we are happy to share a discount on award entry/delegate rates.

Enter this code upon completion and before submission to get 20% off your entry: KANTO2024. You may also use this code on top of the early bird rate, which ends on March 28, 2024.

Twelve outstanding projects by twelve Filipino firms made it to the 2023 World Architecture Festival shortlist. Will more local designs find their way to the global stage in 2024? •

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *